Ver la versión en español aquí
Effective January 1, 2020, the Florida minimum wage rate will increase by 10 cents from the current $8.46 per hour, to $8.56 per hour. This 10 cent increase is less than half of the 21 cent increase the state saw from 2018 to 2019.
Restaurant and hotel employers may still count tips actually received by the employee as wages, in the form of a tip credit up to $3.02 per hour. For 2020, as long as “tipped employees” meet the eligibility requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the employer must pay a direct wage of no less than $5.54 per hour (reflecting an increase of 10 cents as well), which together with the $3.02 per hour in tip credit adds up to the full $8.56 per hour minimum wage rate.
Remember that Florida’s minimum wage rate and minimum direct wage permitted for tipped employees are higher than under the FLSA, so employers must meet the higher wage requirements for Florida employees.
Florida employers should be sure to replace the 2019 minimum wage posters with the new 2020 posters, available through the DEO in English, Spanish and Creole.